The Puppeteer And La Marionette

Oussema Rezig
3 min readMay 1, 2021

--

Our love is only a one night stand.

I can’t have enough but i know i’m waking up to an empty bed.

I know ill wake up to your lost perfume.

Your scent of lilac and roses that bloom.

Roses that bloom beneath the twilight sun.

Your lingerie in my room whilst the midnight fun.

Whilst the midnight fun that never lasted.

Cupid admiring the spell you casted.

The spell you casted on me beneath the lunar rings.

Lost on the ocean admiring the moon that sings.

your lips touching mine and your fingers on my guitar strings.

My guitar strings that weep a sad lullaby.

A lullaby as silent as the nocturnal sky.

Tell me love, why would a bird swim as long as he could fly?

Cursed this life must be.

For darkness is the only vision I am able to see.

Alone tossing my dreams into the sea.

I’ll be the lumberjack if life was a tree.

Through the slaughter and wounds

Through the thousand tombs

Hell’s fire blazes igniting the wicked moons.

Demons and angels dancing to thy tunes.

This eternal masquerade, this deceitful play.

Played by your charm that lures me to stay.

Written by your mischief that pushes me away.

Like an instrument in ur hands I must obey.

Obey the virtuoso’s commands and what she has to say.

So go on my killer, play.

Play the notes you composed and carve my way.

Yesterday’s dusk is merely the dawn of a new day.

Deep amidst your strings, motionless I shall lay.

Poison my innocence with you sins.

Poison is tasty but appreciated by a few.

Appreciated by those who drank from the love potions u brew.

The love quotes you wrote.

From the exterior a witch but deep down a weeping poet.

Pursuing a cause devoting my soul to it.

But you stole my soul you little thief.

You stole my heart and the air I breathe.

You stole my meaning and all of my beliefs.

Alas, farewells for by staying you leave.

Leave, leave me alone you despicable monster.

But stay, stay here for my heart craves you.

Be gone, be loved, be sad you deceitful trickster.

But don’t leave alone, for every clown needs a fool.

Every crown needs a king.

And every witch needs a raven.

Be my raven and ill be your wing.

Be my bard and ill be the lullabies you sing.

Ill be the moons to your nocturnal twilight.

Be my beethoven and ill be your grand-piano.

Ill be the moonlight to all of your sonatas.

Ill be the obscurity to all that lies beyond your light.

Ill be your herald if you ever demand me to fight.

I shall be your student while you are my tutor.

You were the knife that shuused my beating heart.

So condolences to a never lived future.

Condolences to our story that ends in this grandiose auspicious night.

In this majestic festival of clownery.

Presented by the clown and the sacred fool.

Inspired by all the love spells u threw at me.

Let fire blaze and i shall be your fuel.

You will always be the puppeteer.

And i’ll eternaly be your marionette.

--

--

Oussema Rezig

The thing is, life is too sad and boring, until you stumble upon poetry and Art.